What are your thoughts about making Pennsylvania’s teen driving law tougher?
The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania’s General Assembly is close to passing legislation that would strengthen teen driver laws. The proposal includes setting passenger limitations and increased training hours for teen drivers. House Bill 9, which would limit the number of teen passengers to one in a vehicle for the first six months that a junior driver has a license, with exceptions for family members, passed the state Senate this past week by a vote of 41-8. The Bill now goes to the State House which, if passed without any amendment, would then go to the Governor for signature and become law.
The proposed legislation also would expand training requirements before a teenager could take a test for his or her license, specifically increasing behind-the-wheel training from the current 50 hours to 65 hours and require 10 of those hours to be at night and five of those hours would have to be during inclement weather.
It would also would make it a primary offense for any person to drive a vehicle with a passenger under 18 who isn’t wearing a seatbelt or isn’t properly restrained in a booster or car seat. That means a police officer could stop a vehicle if the officer suspects such a passenger isn’t buckled up or properly restrained.
For more on the proposed legislation click on the link to the Pottstown Mercury below:
Scott B. Cooper
Schmidt Kramer PC
209 State Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
(717) 232-6300 – Telephone
(717) 232-6467 – Facsimile